Reading Challenge Update #1

The first bullet to mark off my reading challenge is ‘A Murder Mystery’. The book I read for this category was The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon. I had originally read the story in play format (playwright: Simon Stephens. I would also recommend this version!) for a college course. I thought the story was both captivating and heartwarming, so I was excited to finally read the original novel version. Needless to say, I was not disappointed.

The-curious-incident-of-the-dog-in-the-night-time

Quick synopsis (without spoilers, of course): Christopher Boone (a 15 year old with autism) finds his neighbor’s poodle, Wellington murdered in the back garden. Christopher vows to find Wellington’s murderer despite any obstacles that may hinder him.

The story is told from Christopher’s point of view, which is both blunt and refreshing. This easy to read novel will keep you captivated until the end.

Warning: There may be feels and tears, so be prepared.

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in science, math, animals, autism/mental health awareness, England, mysteries

Leave a Reply

